There are five different levels in Maslow’s hierarchy of needs:

Physiological needs, security needs, social needs, esteem needs and self-actualizing needs


After physiological and security needs are fulfilled, people will move onto the next level of needs – social needs. Social needs comprise of affection, intimacy, family, relationships, etc. People need to feel a sense of belonging and being accepted by the people around them, be it at work, at home or at play. They need to love and be loved by others. Often, this need for love can be fulfilled both physically (sexually) and emotionally.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s